Restoration of the Palacio de los Pardo
Dating of the building: 1550.
Applicant: Caja de Ahorros de Zaragoza, Aragón y la Rioja.
Reason for the award :
For its restoration and adaptation as the Camón Aznar Humanities Museum.
This palace, headquarters of General Palafox Headquarters during the siege of Zaragoza, was remodeled into the Camón Aznar Museum and houses the only complete collection of the four great series of Goya’s etchings.
The Palacio de los Pardo, built in Renaissance style in 1535, is located in the heart of Zaragoza. It is a typical example of Aragonese palatial architecture, with a brick façade topped by a gallery, also made of brick, and large cantilevered carved wooden eaves. The ground floor is organized around a noble central courtyard with columns, decorated with delicate stucco medallions and chandeliers.
The history of the building is closely linked to the legendary site of Zaragoza during the War of Independence, as it was the headquarters of General Palafox. Over the centuries the palace served as the School of Music and Film Library of Zaragoza, until its acquisition in 1975 by the Caja de Ahorros de Zaragoza, which restored it to be used for social projects. For this purpose, the Camón Aznar Humanities Museum was inaugurated in 1979, opening to the public the collection of modern and contemporary art bequeathed by the philanthropist, whose main treasure is the unique and complete collection of Goya’s main etchings.